American Physical Society, Division of Particles and Fields

1737 25296
Award ID:APS-DPF-DPFMENT2023 [#25296]
Award Title: Meenakshi Narain Mentoring Award 2023
Award Type:Fellowship or award
Location:College Park, Maryland 20740-3844, United States [map] sort by distance
Subject Area: Physics / Particle Physics
Appl Deadline:2023/09/30 11:59PMhelp popup (posted 2023/08/08, listed until 2023/09/30)

*** the listing date or deadline for this award has passed and new applications are no longer accepted. ***

The Meenakshi Narain Mentoring Award honors exceptional mentoring, broadly defined, in particle physics and is bestowed annually. This award was dedicated in honor of Prof. Meeankshi Narain in 2023 and, with the generous support of colleagues, family, and the Heising-Simons Foundation, has been endowed to provide a monetary prize of $5,000 starting this year (2023). 

This APS Unit Award is intended to recognize DPF members who have had an exceptional impact as mentors of particle physics scientists and students. This mentoring could be through teaching or research or science-related activities and is meant to recognize current achievements as well as those spanning a career. Examples of contributions honored by this award include: 
The award consists of a certificate indicating the citation chosen by the selection committee, to be awarded at the next DPF Meeting, and a monetary prize of $5,000. The endowment will also reimburse reasonable travel expenses for travel to the award ceremony. 

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office. The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged. More information can be found at the award website:

Nominations should be nominations submitted to here:

and technical questions about using AJO should go to Robert Bernstein,

The deadline for nominations is Sept. 30, 2023.

Nomination Materials Required:
Submit the following items online at this website to complete your nomination:

Further Info:
email address
Mail Station 122
PO Box 500
Batavia IL 60510-5011